On Spring in Maine

by Greg Linscott

Ah, Spring in Maine…

This has been a strange seasonal transition. We have been in the up int the 60s for almost a week. I’ve been riding my bike, the kids are playing outside, we’re listening to the Red Sox on the radio… All this, and no blackflies! Life has been pretty good. Then you wake up to this.

Snow. Cold. Where is my grass? Where is the sunshine?

But you know… life is still wonderful. Paul tells us (from his prison cell, no less) that he has learned to be content in whatever condition he finds himself in. All things considered, it was a mild winter. Warmer weather meant lower heating bills. Over the last year, our little church (and their young pastor) has been learning the importance of trusting the Lord through changing times. I am reminded, even through the relatively trivial setback in the weather, that the Lord Jesus remains faithful to us.

Help me then, in every tribulation,
So to trust your promises, O Lord.
That I lose not faith’s sweet consolation
Offered me within Your Holy Word.
Help me Lord, when toil and trouble meeting,
E’er to take as from a Father’s hand-
One by one, the days, the moments fleeting
‘Till I reach the promised land.

