These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things…

by Greg Linscott

Well, I have been doubly tagged by Fred Butler and Chris Anderson, so I suppose I’d better join the One Book Tag game…

1. One book that changed your life (other than the Bible):

Calvin’s Institutes of the Christian Religion, edited by John McNeill, translated by Ford Lewis Battles.

This book was my first exposure to serious theology as a Bible Institute student. It helped me see past some of the stereotypical dismissal of the Calvinist position I had been raised under by reading Calvin himself. More importantly, it instilled in me a desire to go beyond the surface and seek to understand the depths of God’s Word. I really appreciate my professor, Peter Van Kleeck, for making us start with Calvin rather than someone “easier to understand.”

2. One book you’ve read more than once:

To The Golden Shore: The Biography of Adoniram Judson by Courtney Anderson

Judson provides a pattern of perseverance in the face of problems that I find inspiring. His early life of rebellion is something I can also identify with, and is a good reminder that God uses many different vessels for His glory.

Liberating Ministry from the Success Syndrome by R. Kent Hughes rates a close second.

3. One book you’d want on a Desert Island:

Wilderness Survival by Gregory J. Davenport

I am not an avid outdoorsman. While other books might be nice, it would be helpful to be able to survive long enough to finish reading them…

4. One book that made you laugh:

The Mantra of Jabez by Douglas Jones.

This parody of The Prayer of Jabez is humorous, but makes a serious point. I laughed out loud several times reading this one- much to the annoyance of my wife, who was trying to sleep…

5. One book that made you cry (or feel really sad):

Portrait of Obedience: The Biography of Robert T. Ketcham by J. Murray Murdoch

Ketcham’s biography provides me with the pattern and example I strive to follow as a Fundamental Baptist. It is one of my favorite books- I almost put it under #2 instead. However, the part that made me really sad was to see the horrible treatment Ketcham received at the hands of J. Frank Norris. The depths to which Norris sunk in his taunting and goading of Ketcham makes some of today’s blogosphere flame wars seem like love fests by comparison. The worst example was when Norris had the audacity to goad Ketcham on the ineffectiveness of the missionary ministry of his daughter and son-in-law as she lay deathly ill in the hospital. By God’s grace, it does seem that “Fighting Bob” maintained an his godly character and demeanor through the trial. Today’s “Fighting Fundamentalists” could learn a great deal from Ketcham’s conduct.

6. One book that you wish had been written:

A Theology of Separation by Kevin Bauder.

Fortunately, there is still hope…

7. One book that you wish had never been written:

Insert your favorite Christian Romance Novel here…

8. One Book You’re Currently Reading:

Religious Affections by Jonathan Edwards

This has been slow, but rich, reading. I think I will need to re-read it at least once before I can comment with any degree of clarity.

9. One Book you’ve been meaning to read:

Life of D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones by Iain Murray

I enjoy Lloyd-Jones immensely. His Studies in the Sermon on the Mount has been invaluable to me as I have preached through Matthew’s Gospel. Since I enjoy biographies and have enjoyed other books by Murray, I’m sure I will like this when I can get to it.

10. Now tag five people:

Sam Hendrickson
Ryan Martin
Austin Matzko
Mark Rivers
Tom Pryde

