Turnabout is Not Fair Play

by Greg Linscott

Exposure for the sake of the “greater good” of the blogosphere or SI readers in particular is what has been appealed to in the rationale of why this revelation was appropriate to be made by the publisher of this site. In my understanding of what has been offered on this thread, the desire for information about Weiss from secondhand, thirdhand, or even more speculative sources is what is being invited. No attempted contact with Weiss has been referenced.

I can say from personal experience that personal contact and communication with Norm has always been cordial and more open and forthright than one might expect, given the often provocative content of Remonstrans. While I would not endorse all the content or tone he chooses to make public on his site, I don’t believe that the privilege of divulging hearsay (true or not) is a privilege that SI or its Site Publisher had the right to exercise under the circumstances.

As one heavily involved in this site through its history, I have been privy to information, some firsthand and some not, that could me much more explosive or of interest if revealed to the readers/blogosphere in general than this relatively small exposure. Should I now divulge this information for the “benefit” of all? After all, it might help better understand the source of information and perspective of the information offered here.

Of course not. That would be inconsiderate, arrogant, and dishonorable.

The last I looked, Jesus said,

Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them… (Matthew 7:12)

There is no exception given by Christ for those who are caustic or harsh in their tone. The duties of humility and subservience are not lifted if not reciprocated.

I would like to go on record as being quite disappointed in these recent proceedings, and saddened by the apparent lack of judgment and integrity evidenced by this decision of my former colleague (whom I still consider a friend and brother).

(This is cross-posted at SI.)

